Apple Experiences…The Advantages

So there has to be some enormous advantages to make everyone join a cult like following behind a single man who heads a technology company.  Well they are quite simple but very important issues that most businesses do not seem to have.

For me, it is not about Steve Jobs it is about the company he runs.  He is jus the figure that I associate with.  I would compare him to something like Paul Harvey.  If you have ever listened to Paul Harvey and his “the rest of the story”, no one can ever make the news happen the way Harvey does. You listen to Harvey and then one day he is on vacation and it is just not the same.  I think this is the same way with Steve Jobs.  Steve is a great speaker at the Apple announcements.  There have been studies of his positive word placement while he announces new and updates products.

But some would say Apple fanboys would by anything that Apple puts out there.  That the systems are no better than Windows machines and they cost far more than they are worth.  That a man who speaks well is only hypnotizing the people who follow him into these purchases.

To them I say, I was a Windows user and I think that Windows 7 is defiantly a great product.  I also think that Office 2011 for Mac is a great product for the Mac.  I say I still use Windows 7 (on my Mac) and bought my daughter a Toshiba for Christmas.  I learned to use a computer on a Windows Machine.

But where I think that Windows and Mac depart are services offered by the two.  When I used a Windows computer as a daily machine I remember pain.  I first owned a Compaq laptop the held a 4GB hard-drive and 256 RAM and it was maxed out. I then went to Gateway machines as well as eMachine which was owned by Gateway.  There was two commons among all those machines. When I had a problem and called support they told me to restore the machine or that it was always someone else’s fault.  It had to be some software issue, or something I was connecting to my computer like a printer so I should restore my computer back to factory.  Back to something that was essentially unusable in my daily life. I should undo all the programs I spent time installing so I could use this machine.

My last story about a Windows machine goes like this.  My wife and daughter spent several hours in the cold on Black Friday to get a good deal on a Toshiba laptop.  It was one that my daughter wanted for Christmas.  They got this machine and knowing better than to let the machine sit in the box that long and let my 30 day return policy expire I un boxed the laptop and set out to add programs she needed and others like virus protection etc.  While doing so I noticed that my wireless internet connection was not staying connected.  It would drop frequently and I would get the standard error webpage.  So I called Toshiba.  Within 5 minutes I had my answer.  “Well it is connecting, isn’t that good enough?” I hung up, I was done. I contacted Best Buy, where we bought it and they were nice enough to exchange it for me.  We stayed with the same machine and it appears that there was an issue with the wifi radio.  But the service Toshiba offered was horrible.

Now my Apple story.  There are two story’s I would like to share.  Since 2008 when I owned my first Apple machine I have have only made one call to Apple where the service agent was rude.  And yes I call every time I need help.  On that call I hung up, called back and got someone who was willing to help and apologized for the previous person.  I usually carry Applecare on everything I own so I can call and get support.  Some think that the service is not worth the price but I recommend it for almost everything.  Apple has issues with their devices too but where Apple excels is they are willing to help.  Windows machines have gotten so cheap they have taken support out the the mix.  They let others build products they label where an Apple is an Apple.  The support is kind, friendly and willing to help. Sometimes they may not know how but they try and will advance you up the support ladder until someone can help.  Since 2008 I have been asked to restore my Macbook Pro one time.  I have had help from Apple with my HP printer as well as my Windows machines.

I also have been very proud to call myself a fanboy as recent as last week.  I have two instances where Apple reaffirms my purchase was a good one.  In the spring of 2010 my first Mac began having issues.  Every time, Apple sent a box, overnighted my Mac both ways and within days I had it back.  After a few months a number of times having issue with this computer I was on the phone with support troubleshooting an issue and the screen went white. The agent put me on hold and came back offering to fix this one or replace it with a current model Macbook Pro.  I was set back.  I had heard they did this but this was a first for me.  I had this happen with Windows but my machine was replaced with a like model, which I still had issues with. I opted for the brand new 2010 Macbook Pro.

The most recent was my 5 year old son’s iPod touch. We have had every model touch.  And for every model we have carried square trade warranty for the ADP. We know he is 5 and accidents happen so we wanted to be protected.  Until this time he has never had an issue but it only takes one.  On a recent Friday he dropped his iPod into water.  We tried the iPod in the bag of rice trick for 3 days and the iPod came back up but quickly died again.  So we contacted Square Trade and initiated a claim. We had no issues with this claim.  They said they would send me a check. So we called Apple and was prepared to buy a new iPod.  To our shock after asking some questions and telling them what happened they talked to a senior advisor.  They came and told us to take the number they were about to give us and go to UPS, they would box up the iPod, send it back and when Apple received it would send up a new iPod.  That’s exactly what happened, within days we had  new iPod touch.

I know that everyone has different experiences and some may have had issue with Apple.  I have heard of people who called for support and got that rude tech or were not able to be helped.  I don’t know their situation. I just know mine.  For me, when I can afford an Apple product that I need I will buy Apple.  I know they are more expensive than the Windows machines with comparable specs but where I think they part is Apple just works.

Comments are closed.