Apple Experiences…cont

I opened the plain brown box to be greeted by the usual white Apple packaging feature a picture of what was inside.  I quickly opened the MacBook pro, plugged it in and turned it on. I saw the screen, that beautiful screen inviting me to play take control.  I had to enter some information for set up and then I was on to using my new device for the first time.  Our relationship was both frustrating and welcoming at first.  All the usual commands I had learned to operate my windows machine had to be relearned because Apple keys are not like Windows.  But it did not take me long as I could not put this machine down.  I wanted to know more about how it worked.  I tried this and read that until I finally found myself using it like it was the machine I learned on. But it did not stop there.

I read more about the eco system; I was slowly getting hooked on Mac.  I read more about iPods, iMac’s and subscribed to podcasts, blogs.  I had never owned anything beside the iPhone that played media.  But it was all so expensive.  Apple charges a premium for their devices.  You could honestly end up with a bill for thousands on a new laptop and tens of thousands on their desktop equivalents.  I am by no means rich so I could not afford to buy all my eyes could take in.  But I bought sparingly and got my kids and wife into iPhone’s and my five year old an iPod touch around the age of 2.

I saw the iPhones as a means to communicate through the cloud and Mobile Me did that for me.  My wife and I actually like each other.  We love to be together and do things together like couples should.  We don’t have a lot of friends so we shop for everything from groceries to clothing together.  We watch movies together and listen to music together.  So Mobile Me made sense for us.  We use it a little different probably, we have a standard account and have his, hers and family calendars that each of us control as admins.  She can add an event to mine and I hers and both can add an event to our Family calendar.  While the Mobile Me mail is mine and I set her up with Gmail, which has grown over the years too, we pay for Mobile Me because it works for us.

Over the years we have had several iPhones with each new announcement, iPods, MacBook’s and an iPad.  And it is not just I.  I bought my wife a MacBook from eBay because her Gateway was out of space and had been restored many times after calling support for issues we faced all the time.  She too, fell in love with her white plastic MacBook. So for both of us the move to Mac was one that while we were scared to do, we overcame and now see the advantages, even why we pay more.

Next….The advantages….

Comments are closed.